More information

Calendar Next Amicale's events

Europe in Strasbourg


President: Denis HUBER

Co-President: Stanislas FROSSARD

Vice-President: TSETSEKOU Eleni

Treasurer: Catherine GUERRERO

Executive Secretary: Olga BALTAG

Elected Members: Keltoum BELAID, Nurcan DEJEAN-DOYDUK, Alla HEITZ, Olga KOSTENKO,Valentyna KRYVENKOVA, Sophie KURT, Cipriana MORARU, Ivi-Triin ODRATS, Bridget O'LOUGHLIN, Marie-Rose PREVOST,  Szilvia SIMOND.


PALAIS - Office 99
+33(0)3 90 21 54 95

Monday to Friday :
- 9:00 am to 12:30 am
- 14h00 to 17h00 pm

Strasbourg & Co Amicale's Partners Events
Debate APE - Protecting media freedom in Europe

Debate APE - Protecting media freedom in Europe

Calendar the 19/04/2023

The European Parliamentary Association and the Permanent Representation of Sweden to the Council of Europe are pleased to invite you to a debate entitled “Protecting media freedom in Europe. How to deal with threats to journalists?”. This event will take place on Wednesday the 19th of April, starting at 8 pm, in the villa of the European Parliamentary Association (76 allée de la Robertsau, Strasbourg).


Please fill in this form to participate:


The debate will be conducted in English and will be followed by a cocktail reception.


Although Europe is considered a relatively safe region for journalists, there has been an alarming rise in the number of threats and attacks against them in recent years. Journalists in several European countries have increasingly been subjected to various forms of violence, including physical attacks, intimidation, harassment, targeted surveillance, and cyberbullying. Of particular concern are the murders of investigative journalists that have taken place over the last decade.


Our debate aims to explore what the European Parliament, the Council of Europe, and, in particular, the Swedish EU Presidency can do to better protect journalists in Europe while taking into account the current situation and challenges.


Our distinguished panelists include:


  • Cecilia Ruthström-Ruin, Swedish Ambassador for Human Rights, Democracy and the Rule of Law;
  • Mårten Ehnberg, Swedish Ambassador to the Council of Europe, in his capacity as Chair of the Group of Friends on the Safety of Journalists and Media Freedom
  • Ramona Strugariu, Member of the European Parliament from Romania. She is a member of the Renew Europe Group, Co-Chair of the media working group and a leading voice for media freedom in the European Parliament.


This initiative was made possible thanks to the support of the City of Strasbourg, the European Collectivity of Alsace, and the Grand Est Region.