More information

Calendar Next Amicale's events

Europe in Strasbourg


President: Denis HUBER

Co-President: Stanislas FROSSARD

Vice-President: TSETSEKOU Eleni

Treasurer: Catherine GUERRERO

Executive Secretary: Olga BALTAG

Elected Members: Keltoum BELAID, Alla HEITZ, Olga KOSTENKO,  Valentyna KRYVENKOVA, Sophie KURT, Ivi-Triin ODRATS, Bridget O'LOUGHLIN, Marie-Rose PREVOST, Sabine SABBAGH.


PALAIS - Office 99
+33(0)3 90 21 54 95

Monday to Friday :
- 9:00 am to 12:30 am
- 14h00 to 17h00 pm

Pafos harbor

Amicale du conseil de l'europe


European Cultural Capital Pafos 2017: the entire town of Pafos is a listed UNESCO World Heritage Site Pafos was the capital of Cyprus for a long period of time in antiquity. Today it is a charming town  in  the west of Cyprus  Numerous archaeological sites can be seen from the  centre  of  the  modern  town down to its picturesque  harbour,  as  well  as  all  along   the  coast. The Pafos region is surrounded by a beautiful coastline.  Inland and   in   the   mountainous   regions   lay   superb monasteries  and  tranquil  villages,  where  old traditions  and  customs  have  been  kept  alive  since time immemorial. Kato Pafos  archaeological  Park  includes  sites  and monuments from prehistoric times to the Middle Ages,  while  most  remains  date  to  the  Roman period.  The marvelous mosaic floors of four Roman villas form the impressive epicenter of the finds. They  depict scenes  from  Greek mythology  and  are  considered  masterpieces  of mosaic  art.  Some  of  the  mosaics  at  the  House of Dionysos depict the god of wine, while that of Theseus  depicts  the  classical  Greek  mythology hero  brandishing  a  club  against  the  Minotaur.  .

The National Theatre of Strasbourg 

The National Theatre of Strasbourg was built between 1888 and 1899. Placed under the Ministry of Culture since 1972, it is the first National Theatre created outside Paris. The main entrance of the theatre is located on the Place de la République, in the area known as "German" in Strasbourg, which includes five prestigious buildings forming one of the few examples of "monumental Berlin" type: the theatre, the Palace of Rhine, the National and University Library of Strasbourg, and the Prefecture.


Which year was founded the Council of Europe? 

o   1951

o   1949

o   1957

(Check your answer at the next station)

(Answer to the previuos quiz: Mickhail Gorbatchev)