More information

Calendar Next Amicale's events

Europe in Strasbourg


President: Denis HUBER

Co-President: Stanislas FROSSARD

Vice-President: TSETSEKOU Eleni

Treasurer: Catherine GUERRERO

Executive Secretary: Olga BALTAG

Elected Members: Keltoum BELAID, Alla HEITZ, Olga KOSTENKO,  Valentyna KRYVENKOVA, Sophie KURT, Ivi-Triin ODRATS, Bridget O'LOUGHLIN, Marie-Rose PREVOST, Sabine SABBAGH.


PALAIS - Office 99
+33(0)3 90 21 54 95

Monday to Friday :
- 9:00 am to 12:30 am
- 14h00 to 17h00 pm


Amicale du conseil de l'europe


Lefkosia, the only divided capital in the world, is situated practically in the  centre  of  Cyprus  and  constitutes  a  rich  cultural  hub.  The  history  of the city dates back to the Bronze Age. In antiquity and in early Christian times it was known as Ledra. It has been the capital of Cyprus since the Late Byzantine period (11th century). The Lusignans transformed it into a splendid city, with royal palaces and 50 churches. Contemporary Lefkosia combines  the  historic  past  with  the  liveliness  of  a  modern  city.  The  city  centre, the old “Chora”, surrounded by 16th century walls, with museums, old churches and medieval buildings, maintains the leisurely atmosphere of yesteryear.  Outside  the walls,  the  modern  city  with  its  contemporary comforts pulsates to cosmopolitan rhythms. A few kilometres into the countryside one can admire superb Byzantine churches and monasteries.

The French anthem

The Baron de Dietrich, then mayor of Strasbourg, asked Rouget de Lisle, a French officer stationed in the city, to write a song of war. The song "La Marseillaise" was written by Rouget de Lisle in Strasbourg in 1792, following the declaration of war by the King to the Emperor of Austria. The future French anthem was sung publicly for the first time on the Place Broglie, in front of the Town Hall of Strasbourg. 





Which leading politician, speaking at the Council of Europe, called for the building of the " European common home"?

o   Winston Churchill

o   Mickhail Gorbatchev

o   Konrad Adenhauer

(Check your answer at the next station)

(Answer to the previous quiz: Robert Schumann)